The First Day of Spring is Mother’s Day in Palestine

21 Mar

Since 1956, Palestinians have celebrated Mother’s Day on March 21st- the first day of Spring (Spring equinox).

aq1985

Palestinians and 19 Arab nations celebrate Mother’s Day on March 21st- the first day of spring.

On Mother’s Day, Palestinians honor mothers as well as the maternal bonds that extend to grandmothers, aunts, and female family members, which Palestinians have traditionally regarded as sacred relations that link families and connect them to past and future generations. During Mother’s Day public events are held to honor the influence of Palestinian mothers on family and society.

On the occasion of Mothers’ Day for some and the advent of Spring for all, may your day be filled with(فرح) happiness and (صحة جيدة) excellent emotional and physical health.

 

Oud player and music composer, Marcel Khalife (مارسيل خليفة) sings “To My Mother إلى أمي”-  written by the late Palestinian poet Mahmoud Darwish (محمود درويش), which captures the poets personal experience as a political prisoner who longs to return home to be with his mother.

To My Mother
أحنُّ إلى خبز أُمي
I long for my mother’s bread
وقهوة أُمي
And my mother’s coffee
ولمسة أُمي..
And my mother’s touch…
وتكبرُ فيَّ الطفولةُ
My childhood grows within me
يومًا على صدر يومِ
Day after day
وأعشَقُ عمرِي لأني
I love my living life because
إذا مُتُّ،
If I died
أخجل من دمع أُمي!
My mother’s tears will mortify me
خذيني، إذا عدتُ يومًا
Take me, if I return one day
وشاحًا لهُدْبِكْ
A scarf for your lashes
وغطّي عظامي بعشب
And cover my bones with grass
تعمَّد من طهر كعبك
Baptized by the purity of your ankle
وشُدّي وثاقي ..
Untie my shackles
بخصلة شَعر ..
With a lock of your hair
بخيطٍ يلوِّح في ذيل ثوبك ..
With a thread gleaming at the helm of your thoub-dress
عساني أصيرُ
Perhaps I will become
إلهًا أصير ..
A god I would become
إذا ما لمستُ قرارة قلبك
But, if  I could  touch the tranquility of your heart
ضعيني، إذا ما رجعتُ
Set me, if I ever return
وقودًا بتنور ناركْ ..
Fuel to light your fire
وحبل غسيل على سطح دارك
Clothes line on your roof
لأني فقدتُ الوقوفَ
Because I lost my strength to stand
بدون صلاة نهارك
Without your daily prayers
هَرِمْتُ، فردّي نجوم الطفولة
Old I have become… return me to the stars of childhood
حتى أُشارك
So I can chart my homeward journey
صغار العصافير
With the fledgling sparrow chicks
درب الرجوع ..
The return pathway
لعُش انتظارِك
To your awaiting  nest

ob6-052

Leave a Reply

